La La Land 2: La La Harder – La La Land second thoughts

*THIS IS NOT A REVIEW. THIS IS JUST POSITIVE VENTING.*

In my recent review for La La Land (read that here), I stated that I would’ve enjoyed it more if I didn’t have a cold.

Now I don’t have a cold. I watched it again.

And I enjoyed it more.

La La Land is one of the best romance films I’ve ever seen. If I’d waited three days to write my Best of 2016 list (read that here), this would definitely have been there.

1Sheet_Master.qxd

Something I’d noticed the first time but couldn’t quite place my words on was the freedom of the camera. In classic musicals like Singin’ in the Rain and West Side Story, the camera stays virtually still while the performers leap to Prague and back but in La La Land, the camera moves as much as the performers (spare for the Emma Stone audition scene).

La La Land is a film which deserves to be seen time and time again by both sides of the filmmaking spectrum; the makers and the viewers.

The viewers must watch it because it is a wonderful romance and a superb musical.

And the filmmakers must watch it because no matter what you do in the production 0f a film, you can learn from La La Land. Every single aspect of this film is done brilliantly.

The performances, the choreography, the direction, the writing, the editing, the sound, the cinematography and everything else is done just brilliantly.

It’s quite rare that I watch a movie twice in cinemas, but now I feel like I need to watch this a third.

If you’ve seen it already, I’d recommend you see it again because I found it better the second time but if you haven’t seen it at all… go watch La La Land NOW.

Leave a Reply

