Vale Carrie Fisher

Around Christmas last month, the world lost both Carrie Fisher and her mother Debbie Reynolds, both legends of the screen.

In this tribute post, I’m going to give you three Carrie Fisher films which you absolutely must see and later, in tribute to Debbie Reynolds, I shall review Singin’ in the Rain.

Star Wars (1977)

princess-leia-definition-star-wars

I’m not going with Return of the Jedi here because Fisher’s most famous moment of Jedi was the her costume and that just doesn’t sound right to me for a tribute. Also she barely has any screentime in Empire so here, the original.

Star Wars will always have a place in the history of cinema. The influence, the following, the revolution in technical grounds, Star Wars has it all.

Carrie Fisher plays the famous Princess Leia, who is saved by Chewie & the rest after they sneak onto the Death Star. You can tell a character is iconic when their hairstyle is only used  by others with the intention of “looking like Leia”.

She also seems to be the only prominent female in the entire original trilogy. It’s so hard to think of another prominent female until The Phantom Menace. Although come to think of it…

… I don’t see a Mrs. Chewbacca…

The story is timeless and the technical work has changed cinema. Truly one of the greatest films ever made.

“Aren’t you a little short for a stormtrooper?”

Leia Organa

The Blues Brothers (1980)

carrie-fisher-as-mystery-woman-in-the-blues

Where I’d say Star Wars is one of the most important films ever made, The Blues Brothers is one of my personal favourites.

Every time I rewatch The Blues Brothers, I either laugh at something new or find something interesting in the dialogue I didn’t notice before.

Fisher plays John Belushi’s vengeful ex and her entire role (spare for the ending) consists of following the brothers on the road and attempting to take their lives in over the top ways.

Once the reveal is given at the end, her entire character has just become a running gag we didn’t know we were following. Hard to explain, I know, but Fisher pulls it off.

“So for me, my mother, my grandmother, my father, my uncle, and for the common good, I must now kill you, and your brother.”

Mystery Woman

When Harry Met Sally… (1989)

921full-when-harry-met-sally-screenshot

I only saw this a couple of days ago after years of my parents telling me to watch it and I wish I saw it sooner.

One of the most easy-going films I’ve ever seen. Billy Crystal delivering a great line every 7 seconds is just cinema gold.

Fisher plays Sally’s best friend Marie who’s quite a wonderful character. Posthumous applause to Nora Ephron, a great writer gone too soon.

The quintessential rom-com; easy to watch, easy to re-watch, easy to re-re-watch and romantic and funny (shock horror for a rom-com).

“Restaurants are to people in the 80’s what theatres were to people in the 60’s. I read that in a magazine.”

Marie

So those are three Carrie Fisher films which you absolutely must watch; a sci-fi classic, my favourite film of the 80’s and the quintessential rom-com, all with Carrie Fisher in the credits.

What was your favourite Carrie Fisher performance? Did I miss any great films from her filmography?

Whatever your thoughts, leave your comment below, sign up to this blog on the side and don’t forget to follow my Instagram page for foreign versions of movie posters.

(Honorable mention to Fisher’s numerous Family Guy appearances.)

Leave a Reply

