Best Films of 2016

Another year has come to a close and it’s time to recount the best cinema experiences of the past 366 days (this was a leap year in case you forgot).

Also in case you were wondering why the above image is Alice Cooper and not one of the films in this list; I didn’t want to spoil anything. Also Alice Cooper.

Now let’s set some things straight;

  1. I have not seen every movie released in 2016. This also sadly applies to most Oscar-buzz films such as Moonlight, La La Land, Manchester by the Sea and Silence which will not be released here until January/February.
  2. These will not be ranked from best to worst. I found it too difficult to find an order that suited my opinion so instead I’ve decided to rank them based on box office gross (according to Wikipedia).
  3. My opinions on some films have changed since I’ve reviewed them. E.g. 10 Cloverfield Lane, Arrival, The Jungle Book, Captain America: Civil War and a few others have not held up for me.

Right. Now that that’s settled, here we go. My 9 favourite films of 2016 in ascending box office gross order…

Boys in the Trees (Australia)

My first opinion on Boys in the Trees was that I liked it. But since my review, I’ve given the film more thought and now I really like it.

If you watch this without the expectation that you’re about to watch a horror movie, you will watch a very underrated teen drama which may make you cry a little. Just a little.

My Scientology Movie (UK/USA)

Imagine a funny documentarian; he’s trying to make a movie about a church.

This church is trying to stop him.

He doesn’t stop filming…

…and there you have My Scientology Movie.

Swiss Army Man (USA)

A genuinely beautiful movie about friendship, love, accepting your emotions and farts. Oh so many farts.

Hunt for the Wilderpeople (New Zealand)

Just a really fun movie with really good writing.

Thank you Taika Waititi. Please keep making movies.

The Nice Guys (USA)

Great comedic banter between the two leads and a classic-noir structure to really push the feeling of SEVENTIES. A re-watchable classic in the making.

Train to Busan (South Korea)

Everything from the heart-pounding suspense scenes to the fantastic action must be complimented but what must be complimented most is the fact that a villain was so hateable that I actually had the urge to punch the cinema screen while everyone watched.

I didn’t do it but awww if I was alone…

Your Name (Japan)

A beautiful story with some cracking detail in the visuals and it’s made me want to watch more anime. The concept may be far-fetched but don’t let that turn you off watching Your Name.

Moana (USA)

Beautiful animation, a great story, catchy music and The Rock. All you need.

Deadpool (USA)

Consistently funny and true to its anti-hero protagonist. If it weren’t for the non-threatening antagonist, I’d probably say it’s perfect.

So those were my 9 favourite movies of 2016. Some of those I haven’t reviewed yet but those reviews will be uploaded in the upcoming month.

What was your favourite movie of the year? Did I miss anything? Have you even heard of Boys in the Trees?

Whatever your thought, leave your comment below, sign up to this blog on the side and don’t forget to follow my Instagram page for foreign versions of movie posters.

Also don’t forget to have a happy new year!

3 thoughts on “Best Films of 2016

  1. Tim – excellent list, so unexpected. I love the Louis Theroux style though am less familiar with N Korean horror. Thanks! I have read fswmf intermittently and always enjoyed what I read. Have a great 2017 and keep up the super work. Andrew St G

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

