Second Half of 2016: 7 Movies I Want to Watch

So I’ve already violated the rule that I would post once a week but I’ve reached a compromise with myself; I will post each week whenever I see fit. To hell and beyond with schedules.

With every second that passes, we are coming one second closer to Oscar season so naturally we must prepare for all of the Oscar-bait war movies which are to come –Hacksaw Ridge, I’m looking at you- but we can also prepare for all of the entertaining flicks reaching our cinemas.

Of course, I won’t be able to safely predict which films will be good or bad but I can be hopeful. These are the films which I am anticipating to be good (in no order except alphabetical);

Assassin’s Creed

A peculiar exercise in film which was released last year was Justin Kurzel’s Macbeth, a film with beautiful direction, acting, cinematography and sound. It’s fault was that I couldn’t understand a word the characters were saying due to the incredibly thick accents which was as annoying as a baboon in a massage parlour considering the fact that I didn’t know the story of Macbeth.

Why am I telling you this? Good question Tim, I shall answer it. It’s because Justin Kurzel has a brand-spanking new film out this December with the exact same two leads from Macbeth -Michael Fassbender and Marion Cotillard- and it’s a film adaptation of the Assassin’s Creed franchise, a franchise I am familiar with.

I know that movies based on video games don’t have a fantastic record -they in fact have an appalling record- but with a promising director and two great leads, I am remaining hopeful.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

The Harry Potter franchise is back with a film based on J.K. Rowling’s book of the same name which didn’t actually have a story (it was an index of creatures in the Harry Potter universe).

This wizarding wonder is set in 1920s New York and the trailers look amazing.

I grew up with the Harry Potter franchise so it’s pretty self-explanatory why I’d be so pumped for this film.

Free Fire

free fire

High-Rise was a great film which has made me want to explore director Ben Wheatley’s filmography further. When I heard that he has a second film being released this year (Free Fire) with a concept very similar to a screenplay I am currently writing, I was vastly intrigued as to how it would play out.

The story sounds similar to a product that would be made by Tarantino; two gangs meeting in a warehouse have a disagreement and gunfire ensues.

The cast looks great, the concept is simple yet open to great possibility and there is a director with skill at the helm so I am very keen to see Free Fire.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

It’s a Star Wars film set during the events of the original Star Wars film. Watch the trailer and need I say more.

The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years

Documentaries rarely disappoint. The Beatles rarely disappoint. I think this film has a very low chance of disappointing.

The Masterpiece

The-Masterpiece

The Masterpiece is directed by James Franco and it is a comedy set during the filming of The Room -a huge cult classic often titled “the worst movie ever made”- with Franco playing its legendary director Tommy Wiseau.

James Franco has been quite active in terms of independent directing recently and I feel this movie is going to break him into more of a mainstream audience. An opinion I share with the next film as well.

Zeroville

zeroville

Zeroville is also directed by James Franco and it follows a young actor who moves to Hollywood during a transitional period in the industry.

As someone who is intent on entering such an industry, it should be easy to understand why I would be interested in this movie, but it’s not only that aspect.

This film is made by the pack of comedians who were responsible for The Interview, This Is the End and the newly released Sausage Party.

Seeing how all three of these films tackle hard topics; How would the society of Hollywood fare in one of their screenplays? This is precisely why I’m anticipating Zeroville.

So those are the seven movies I am most eager to see during the rest of 2016. What are yours? Are there any movies that you are absolutely dying to see? If so, do you need an ambulance? Leave your comment on the side and don’t forget to follow my Instagram page for movie posters.

Leave a Reply

