Finding Dory (2016) – movie review

finding dory

Finding Nemo 2 (or Finding Dory as they insist on making me call it) is about Dory, the same forgetful fish from Finding Nemo which was released 13 years ago. Now I feel old.

Finding Dory follows Dory as she searches for her parents in a Marine Life Institute (above ground) after remembering that they’re the reason she’s alone in the ocean.

I was quite fearing that Finding Dory would become another victim to sequel-itis (sequel-itis: a movie sequel whose story is a complete re-hash of it’s predecessor but produced with lesser quality) but thankfully it isn’t.

Finding Dory doesn’t re-produce the story from Finding Nemo as much as it produces an entirely new concept. Finding Dory shouldn’t even be called Finding Dory, it should be called Dory Finding because it really is more about her journey with a whole new set of characters and circumstances.

With a new journey, Dory’s journey, comes more room for emotional development, which this movie attempts to use as much as possible. The film ties Dory’s backstory into the beginning of Finding Nemo and I thought that was cool but not incredible. It was like the end of the final Hobbit movie which attempts to tie into the first Lord of the Rings, sure it was fun but was that planned from the beginning? I don’t think so. I think they wrote the tie-in with hopes that it would cause instant nostalgia.

I can understand how Finding Dory could be emotionally impactive for some other viewers but it wasn’t for me. In fact for me, Finding Dory was a lot lighter than Finding Nemo, so much lighter that I felt zero conflict.

However, having zero conflict is only a problem if a film fails to entertain any other way and Finding Dory entertained greatly. It had lots of humour, the story was enjoyable and the characters were fun. This film does throw back to some characters from the previous film but it mostly uses characters newly created.

Being set in the ocean, one can assume that Finding Dory will have a barrage of characters and there are. But one that stood out for me was Hank, the ill-tempered red octopus who is hoping to escape from the Marine Life Institute.

Hank was voiced by Ed O’Neill (A.K.A. Jay from Modern Family) and he is voiced brilliantly. I instantly recognised the voice but as the film progressed, I forgot that I knew the actor and I felt that I was listening to Hank.

As well as Ed O’Neill, the rest of the cast is great. Ellen Degeneres reprises her role as the titular blue tang fish and she returns with the same sense of forgetfulness in her voice that made the original film great. The same goes for every other voice actor who voices new and returning characters.

The animation is as clear and colourful as Finding Nemo, the voice acting is still as great and the story is entertaining and light as well as original.

I enjoyed Finding Dory very much and I certainly wouldn’t oppose to watching it again.

What did you think of Finding Dory? Leave your comment on the side and don’t forget to follow my Instagram page for movie posters.

Leave a Reply

