Best Films of 2016 (So Far)

Toward the end of the coming week, I will be viewing one of the eight films I’m seeing in the Sydney Film Festival. After that, I will be taking a month-long break during July. Why? Because they found me.

I have seen 14 films that were released this year. Six of these 14 I would consider bad and the other eight I would consider good.

And these are the best.

5. Captain America: Civil War

With its vast cast, Civil War was one of the most anticipated films of this year. Batman v Superman was a superhero brawl. There were tremendous hopes for the film but it failed to deliver whereas its cousin (Civil War), with slightly lower expectations, delivered so much more.

Spider-Man felt shoehorned in and the film was too long for my taste but I did enjoy the two hours of superhero fist-locking. The entire cast was great, the action was exciting and most importantly, Stan Lee’s cameo was unexpected.

4. The Jungle Book

The original animated version will always be superior to Favreau’s adaptation but in fairness, it is really hard to compete with perfection. The construction of this version may have felt a little bit off but the individual aspects were incredible. 

The animation was superbly realistic and the cast was fantastic. Bill Murray, Idris Elba, Scarlett Johansson, Ben Kingsley and Neel Sethi all turned in brilliant performances but Christopher Walken’s vocal-performance really made the experience great. Why don’t we see more Christopher Walken?

3. The Nice Guys

I’d only heard of The Nice Guys a month prior to its release and I wasn’t really expecting a lot but what I saw were three great performances and an original script that was entertaining as well as perfectly respectful of the classic noir genre. Overall, The Nice Guys was a very enjoyable film.

2. 10 Cloverfield Lane

10 Cloverfield Lane has been the biggest surprise of the year so far.

Every single performance (that’s right, all three) was brilliant. John Goodman continues to prove that he’s one of the most underrated actors working today. His two co-stars were also brilliant.

10 Cloverfield Lane is simply a superb mystery.

1. Deadpool

Deadpool is by far the most enjoyable movie I’ve seen in awhile.

There were incredibly high expectations for Deadpool, coming from the millions of fans who hated the character’s portrayal in X-Men Origins: Wolverine. There were also great expectations from general viewers who were pumped from the trailers.

Deadpool did not disappoint.

Deadpool is perfectly paced, hilarious, action-packed and endlessly inappropriate. And that’s why it’s my favourite film of the year. So far.

Those were my picks for the best movies of the first half of the year. I’m excited to see what the rest of the year has to offer and I’m also excited to see if Deadpool becomes my second favourite. Or third. Or fourth. Or just imagine it… fifth.

What was your favourite film released in this first half of the year? Leave your comment on the side and don’t forget to follow my Instagram page for movie posters.

Leave a Reply

