27th Annual Bluesfest – Saturday recap

Because I’m tired and I don’t know what to put here today, here are the artists I saw and what I thought of them.

Allen Stone

IMG_8386

I planned on seeing the full performance of Steve Smyth at midday today but for some reason I felt I was in the mood for something poppy so I joined my brother in one of the larger tents for Allen Stone.

We saw Allen Stone perform one song at the RocKwiz show 3 years ago and we quite enjoyed it and from that singular song grew my expectation, poppy soul rock with a hint of alternative. And a really nice beard.

Similar to yesterday, Allen was a fine musician, couldn’t find any faults other than he started slowing down near the middle of his set list but other than that, a fine way to start the day at 1:30 in the afternoon.

Also an interesting cover choice from Stone, deciding to cover Gotye’s Somebody That I Used to Know added something to my afternoon I wasn’t expecting.

Eagles of Death Metal

IMG_8389.jpg

I have never heard any music released or performed by the Eagles of Death Metal prior to today. All of my expectations about the band arose from their simple yet defining title which would lead most (including me) to believing they were a metal band. But their Bluesfest bio page hints at them not being the vicious American bird of the titular genre, rather than a mix of the light rock band itself (Eagles) and the genre and I would have to disagree.

Eagles of Death Metal weren’t a death-metal band but they weren’t nearly as light and smooth as the Eagles either. They were basically a tribute to 80s rock in all of it’s forms and aspects by presenting, performing and paying homage to all of the aspects from the gritty and soothing (to me) sound of the guitar, to the heavy and often quite overlooked aggression of the bass to the glorious stache of the singer. My god…

Also the bass player did at one point perform a heavy bass solo rendition of the Super Mario Bros. theme song. Wonderful. Simply wonderful.

Grace Potter… again… for a while…

IMG_8399

I honestly don’t know why I saw her again. In fact, I didn’t really. I stayed for the first 2 songs of Grace Potter’s set list with hopes that she would de-over-sexualise her image and focus more on the music but no… she made it worse.

I saw the first 2 songs of her set list and realised that yesterday wasn’t a phase for her rather than it was a signal. A signal that Grace has been captured by the void that is the music industry’s demand for over-sexualised women.

Vintage Trouble

IMG_8402

Leaving the tent that held the performance of Grace Potter left me in the middle of a horrifying conundrum… Who do I see now? So many options! So many stages! SO MANY MUSICIANS WAITING TO BE DISCOVERED! So I wandered over to see Vintage Trouble and boy, I was glad to see them.

I had no idea who Vintage Trouble were but now I know them as being one of the most energetic bands I’ve ever seen. I loved the sound that was coming from the stage being played by performers who produced each song as if it were their last.

Although with this colossal energy did come a slight fault; it was 4:45 in the afternoon and the lead singer thought that everyone was 10 hours more energetic than they actually were. Seriously he was trying to crowd-walk and get the audience to “SING WITH ME” on the first song it was… interesting?

I had fun with Vintage Trouble and I hope to see them again next year as they were quite enthralling.

The Mick Fleetwood Blues Band

IMG_8406.jpg

Accompanied by one of the greatest drummers in the world and one of the heaviest storms of the year, The Mick Fleetwood Blues Band were quite a surprise.

Some people were expecting a tribute-esque band that would pay homage to the incredible catalogue of Mick’s Fleetwood Mac and some people were expecting a full on blues band. We got something that was a whole lot more than both and in between.

The Mick Fleetwood Blues Band did manage to keep me awake for an hour longer than I thought I’d stay and also managed to keep me astounded at how great they were. If these guys have an album, I’ll buy it and if they don’t… I’ll buy it.

Tedeschi Trucks Band

IMG_8424

Since I was on the verge of falling asleep just before The Mick Fleetwood Blues Band started, I was on the verge of falling asleep for my entire experience with Tedeschi Trucks… which was 2 songs… I didn’t stay long.

But from what I did see/hear, Tedeschi Trucks were great with their brilliantly unified sound and their guitar slinging Tedeschi. Or Trucks. Or Band (I can’t remember if Tedeschi is the husband or wife).

So that’s who I saw today and tomorrow I plan on seeing Graham Nash, The Blind Boys of Alabama, Jackson Browne and Melissa Etheridge. And again, I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

