Macbeth (2015) – movie review

Macbeth_Michael_Character Poster 1

To be (good) or not to be (good), that is the question that was repeating through my mind as I sat down and viewed Macbeth. And yes I do know that Shakespeare quote isn’t from Macbeth.

Macbeth (originally titled The Tragedy of Macbeth) is a play written by William Shakespeare about a Scottish general who kills the king to gain the title. In order to keep his crown, he frequently murders those he suspects of disloyalty. From the start of this descent into anarchy, he slowly becomes destroyed by guilt. That’s right, I just spoiled a 400 year old story.

The story hasn’t been changed from the original in any way and neither has the dialogue. Which made this hard for me to understand because I have never read the original text nor have a simple understanding of Shakespeare’s word. So watching a 2 hour film with dialogue I can’t understand made for an interesting experience. However from certain actions and a select few lines I could vaguely pick out what the main events of the story were. If you’re familiar with the story of Macbeth and/or you can understand the language then you’ll have a great time but if you’re like me and you’re clueless about both, then you’re going to have a confusing time.

Even though I didn’t understand what they were saying, Michael Fassbender and Marion Cotillard excel as Macbeth and Lady Macbeth with their performances producing a powerful and unavoidable aura of passion for their work.

The photography and scenery are the key feature in Macbeth, if the DoP (Director of Photography) ended up being the actual director of the film, I wouldn’t be surprised. And the musical score is sharp and perfect for every scene.

Macbeth showcases two brilliant performances delivering dialogue I can’t understand (in a bad way, not in an “it’s too intelligent” kind of way) covered in a thick layer of beautiful scenery and an ear-pleasing score to top it off. It’s well made, yet not a popcorn film.

What did you think of Macbeth? Leave your comment on the side and don’t forget to follow my Instagram page for movie posters.

Leave a Reply

