The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2012) – movie review

MV5BMjIwNjkwMDI2NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDc1ODIyNw@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

I reviewed The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and it’s sequel (The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel) earlier in the year as a double review but I want to write an individual review for this British/Indian comedy(?).

The reasons for the question mark are that

a) I’m really tired right now.

b) This film doesn’t actually have a genre.

I want to call it a comedy because I laughed a few short laughs toward the beginning but the rest of it was just pinging between genres without ever really landing on one.

The story follows 7 elderly British people who go to India. There, I’ve spoiled the film for you, you don’t need to see it anymore. There might’ve been something important in the story, I just didn’t see it.

Maggie Smith plays a racist who’s only in India for an operation. The fact that I can only remember one seventh of the main cast shows that there’s nothing outstanding about the characters.

There’s nothing special about cinematography, sound, music, VFX or anything other than light. And I don’t mean light as in lighting on set, I mean light as in the plot and the dialogue and the characters are very light. There’s no depth to the story, there’s no deep human emotion, there’s no inspiring conversations, it’s just a light-hearted comedy/drama/everything-in-between film about old people in India.

I’m not saying that there’s anything bad, all I’m saying is that there’s nothing particularly good.

What did you think of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel? Leave your comment on the side and don’t forget to follow my Instagram page.

One thought on “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2012) – movie review

Leave a Reply

